You Brought This On Yourself.

20180304_233124

I gotta forgive the person who’s “not responsible” for my pain.
I’m beginning to understand (reluctantly) that some people who hurt us are the same people who don’t take responsibility for their own actions. It’s always someone else’s fault. “I wouldn’t have done that if you didn’t do this;” or “you brought this on yourself.”
And far too often it’s a family member saying it.
And it tends to go something like this:

Hey can you help me?
Sure, what you need
I’m feeling lonely & sad
Aww shit, you feeling bad?
Yeah, my heart’s heavy
You wanna talk? Lift the weight?
Oh yeah, and it’s too heavy to wait.
What is it? Tell me now.
Well you know i’m not sure i know  how.
Come on now it’s me
But this might be hard for you to see.
Whatchu talkin’ ’bout? Hey it’s me.
Ok if it’s aight with you, it’s aright with me. See it hurt when you did that. It hurt what you said.
Wait, what? You didn’t like the bread?
I liked the bread yes, but…
No but, i gave so shut the fuck up
No wait, i didn’t mean…
Yeah you did. You’re ungrateful and mean.
Not ungrateful, just hurt the way you did…
The way i did what? Help you live?
No not that. But the way you threw it on the table…
I ain’t throw shit. You just mad cause you ain’t able.
I’m not mad, i’m just hurt…
Oh right, cause i bailed you out for what you’re worth?
I’m sorry. Thanks for your help.
Yeah no problem. It’s always nice to hear you yelp.